Innovationcluster 5G BERLIN e.V.

The innovation cluster 5G BERLIN e.V. is a partnership between research and business aimed at promoting innovation associated with the key technology “5G”, the next-generation communications network. The initiative increases the international stature of Berlin as a location and brings an important component of the digitalization process to Germany’s capital city. The objective of 5G BERLIN is both testing technologies and promoting new 5G applications. The initiative is currently in the start-up phase and will begin with the establishment of the 5G-Testfeld and the inauguration of the 5G-Center in early 2018. By combining the unique infrastructure in the 5G-Testfeld and the comprehensive networking activities of the 5G-Center, the innovation cluster 5G BERLIN will make an important contribution to the future viability of the companies participating.

The innovation cluster is composed of various stakeholders: regional, international, small and large companies, research institutes, industry associations and networks. The mission of the 5G-Center is to consolidate these stakeholders, to create an information network and to form the basis for new partnerships. The 5G-Center promotes both the internal and external communication of 5G BERLIN and facilitates innovation transfer as well as the coordination of partner activities. In particular, the classical telecommunications industry is to be networked with new 5G stakeholders. The 5G-Center in the new Fraunhofer HHI lecture hall is the central contact point for 5G BERLIN and serves as a networking platform for startups, SMEs, research institutes, major companies and public authorities

The 5G-Testfeld includes the sustainable establishment and operation of a high-performance test infrastructure on the North Campus of the Technische Univerist├Ąt Berlin in order to test technologies under real conditions. Here the infrastructure is to be expanded incrementally and on a need-driven basis in order to completely leverage innovation potentials. First 5G technology of the 1st Phase will be installed at existing macro-cell sites. Then, in order to realize very high data transmission rates, in addition streetlights will be equipped with 5G technology of the 2nd Phase and networked (millimeter wave technologies). The streetlights will also be equipped with sensor technologies and computing power and represent an enormous potential for future 5G applications. The components of the 5G-Testfeld are provided by the partners and are further developed in the overall system. The 5G-Testfeld implements all relevant technology components of a convergent 5G network and will facilitate the development of innovations at the Berlin site.


Get in

Phone: +49 30 31002 444

Innovationscluster 5G BERLIN e.V.

Das Innovationscluster 5G BERLIN e.V. ist eine Partnerschaft aus Forschung und Wirtschaft zur Förderung von Innovation rund um die Schlüsseltechnologie „5G“, dem Kommunikationsnetz der nächsten Generation. Die Initiative erhöht die internationale Leuchtkraft des Standorts Berlin und legt in der Hauptstadt einen wichtigen Baustein der Digitalisierung. Zielsetzung von 5G BERLIN ist sowohl die Erprobung der Technologien als auch die Förderung neuer 5G-Anwendungen. Die Initiative befindet sich momentan in der Gründungsphase und startet Anfang 2018 mit dem Aufbau des 5G-Testfeld und der Eröffnung des 5G-Center. Durch die Kombination der einzigartigen Infrastruktur im 5G-Testfeld und den umfassenden Vernetzungsaktivitäten im 5G-Center wird das Innovationscluster 5G BERLIN einen wichtigen Beitrag für die Zukunftsfähigkeit der beteiligten Unternehmen leisten.

Das Innovationscluster setzt sich aus unterschiedlichen Stakeholdern zusammen: regionale und internationale, kleine und große Unternehmen, Forschungsinstitute, Verbände und Netzwerke. Die Mission des 5G-Center ist es diese Stakeholder zusammenzuführen, ein Informationsnetzwerk zu schaffen und die Basis für neue Partnerschaften zu bilden. Das 5G-Center fördert sowohl die interne als auch die externe Kommunikation von 5G BERLIN und dient dem Innovationstransfer, sowie der Koordination der Partneraktivitäten. Insbesondere soll die klassische Telekommunikationsindustrie mit neuen 5G Stakeholder vernetzt werden. Das 5G-Center im neuen Hörsaal des Fraunhofer HHI ist die zentrale Anlaufstelle von 5G BERLIN und dient als Vernetzungsplattform für Startups, KMUs, Forschungsinstituten, Großunternehmen und Behörden.

Das 5G-Testfeld umfasst den nachhaltigen Aufbau und den Betrieb einer leistungsfähigen Testinfrastruktur auf dem Nord-Campus der TU Berlin und dient der Erprobung der Technologie unter realen Bedingungen. Die Infrastruktur soll dabei stufenweise und bedarfsgerecht ausgebaut werden, um Innovationspotentiale voll auszuschöpfen. Zunächst wird an den vorhandenen Makrozellenstandorten 5G-Technik der 1. Phase installiert. Zur Realisierung sehr hoher Datenraten werden zudem Straßenlaternen mit 5G-Technik der 2. Phase (Millimeterwellentechnologie ) ausgestattet und vernetzt. Die Straßenlaternen können auch mit Sensortechnik und Rechenkapazitäten ausgestattet werden und haben ein enormes Potential für zukünftige 5G-Anwendungen. Die Komponenten des 5G-Testfelds werden durch die Partner bereitgestellt und im Gesamtsystem weiterentwickelt. Das 5G-Testfeld bildet alle relevanten Technologiekomponenten eines konvergenten 5G-Netzes ab und wird die Entwicklung von Innovationen am Standort Berlin fördern.

Latest News

Partner aus Wirtschaft und Forschung haben im September das Innovationscluster 5G BERLIN e.V. ins Leben gerufen. Ziel des Vereins ist die Förderung von Innovationen rund um 5G-Schlüsseltechnologien für urbane Anwendungsszenarien. Die Initiative 5G BERLIN treibt die Digitalisierung in der Hauptstadt voran und erhöht die internationale Leuchtkraft des Standorts. Dazu wird eine Testumgebung aufgebaut, um diese […]

5G IST DER NEUE MOBILE INTERNETZUGANG: SCHNELL, ZUVERLÄSSIG UND IN ECHTZEIT.

Kontaktieren
Sie uns

Tel.: +49 30 31002 444

contact@5G-BERLIN.org